Schenectady County is responsible for enforcing public health laws related to tobacco control across the entire county. Keeping indoor air free from tobacco smoke and vaping and preventing the sale of these products to individuals under 21 can reduce tobacco-related illnesses and deaths while keeping our communities healthy and strong.
The Clean Indoor Air Act prohibits the smoking of tobacco, cannabis, and the use of vapor products in nearly all indoor and certain outdoor public areas and workplaces. The main goal of this act is to protect people from the harmful effects of secondhand smoke and to create healthier indoor environments.
Nearly all smokers started when they were teenagers. Keeping young people from smoking and vaping can save lives, prevent addiction, and better support their growth and long-term health. NYS Public Health Law, Section 1399-cc prohibits the sale of tobacco and vaping products to individuals under the age of 21.
Schenectady County actively enforces tobacco control laws. If you see the sale of tobacco or vape products to an individual under the age of 21, file a complaint online.
The sale of cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, powdered tobacco, shisha, other tobacco products, herbal cigarettes, liquid nicotine, electronic cigarettes, flavored vapor products, rolling papers, or smoking paraphernalia to persons under 21 years of age is illegal.
Comply with the law, protect your business, and be a good neighbor. Do NOT sell tobacco or vape products to individuals under 21 years of age. Review the New York State Guide for Retail Tobacco and Vapor Product Dealers.
All tobacco use is harmful! Did you know that cigarette smoking is the leading cause of preventable death? More people die from the effects of smoking than alcohol and illegal drug use, car accidents, gun incidents, and HIV combined.
Smoking can cause death and diseases like:
Learn more about Cigarette Smoking and Secondhand Smoke
Quitting smoking and vaping is difficult because of the addictive nicotine levels found in both cigarettes and e-cigarettes. But, you can do it and you are not alone. Help and support are available from New York State, and most Health insurance plans, including Medicaid, cover smoking cessation treatments.
New York State Smokers Quitline
Call 1-866-NYQUITS (1-866-697-8487), text (716) 309-4688, or visit online at https://www.nysmokefree.com