Skip to main content

Schenectady County Legislature Announces New Leadership

Schenectady County Chair Gary Hughes

The Schenectady County Legislature held their biennial organizational meeting earlier tonight. During the meeting the members of the Legislature voted to appoint new leadership for the upcoming two-year term. The newly elected leaders are as follows:

Chair of the Legislature: Gary Hughes, District 2

Vice-Chair of the Legislature: Cathy Gatta, District 3

Deputy Chair of the Legislature: Philip Fields, District 2

Majority Leader: Richard Patierne, Distict 1

Minority Leader: Eric Hess, District 4

“I am honored to assume the role of Chair, and I extend my sincere thanks to our outgoing Chairman, Tony Jasenski, whose strong leadership has helped guide us through everything from natural disasters to the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Gary Hughes, Chair of the Schenectady County Legislature. “We have served together with a shared commitment to our community, and I look forward to working collaboratively with my fellow legislators to continue addressing the needs of our constituents and moving Schenectady County forward.”

“It has been a privilege to serve as Chair of the Legislature over the last 10 years,” said Schenectady County Legislator Anthony Jasenski. “I want to congratulate Chairman Hughes and the newly elected leadership team. I look forward to continuing to represent the residents of District 4 and supporting the new leadership team’s efforts in this new capacity. Working together works.”